NoNo to the NaNo

NaNo WriMo is just around the corner again. And thanks to Sam here, I got reminded about it again. I tried to do it last year not truly understanding just how work was going to pick up for me. My part job stopped being quite as part time. I did manage to knock out 25000 words in the first week and a half but after that… the muse just up and left on that story. There were some other things going on too that helped the muse get annoyed and take flight but for the most part it was work that got in the way. So I made the decision months ago when I got an email about it that I would not be participating this year.

After finishing the first draft of Nyssa I started to think about it again. But really, I don’t need NaNo WriMo to get me writing, I write because I want to write and because I need to write. It is a desire within me, I don’t need that added pressure of competing against all these people who are happily showing how wonderful they are doing, how they’ve already shot beyond 50k and are starting down 100k by the end of the month.
Working on a time frame is one thing, but it has to be realistic for me. I realistically cannot devote the time to just one single project, at that time of the year and still have a life and be a mum and all of that. I failed at it last year and I realistically know I will not be able to suddenly achieve a miracle this year.
My muse and myself don’t like being limited, we like to roam around ideas and while it does make it harder to get singular things finished at times, it is the way we write and I am okay with that. I write because I want to, because the voices in me will not be stilled and at my own pace. And I am okay with that.

10 thoughts on “NoNo to the NaNo

  1. You can always be a Nano Rebel? And it’s not about competing with other people, it’s about competing with yourself. Setting yourself a challenge and figuring out how to complete it. I had to be a Rebel last year because I had too many projects on to do just the one, so I wrote articles for my website, I did some scenes for Rise of Hawk, did about 25k of my memoirs, and a bunch of random scenes that never made it into various stories so that I could explore characters and certain story ideas. YOU set the goals for NaNoWriMo, not anyone else.

    I’m not necessarily trying to convince you to participate, just letting you know that it’s not as static as you think it is.

    1. I’ve never heard of a NaNo Rebel and I wish I had last year when people were all too quick to pop up and tell me all the rigid rules and blah blah. I shall at least think about it. The big thing will be work though, if we get hellish busy early again this year with all the lambs I just might not have the time to even be part of the rebel alliance *starts humming the star wars music* hehe

  2. I had a good experience with NaNo in 2010. I didn’t get caught up in announcing my word count on the website, I just wrote for myself. I have a full-time job and it was a great way for me to start a new project and get 50k words written quickly. Of course, it was bad..real bad, but that’s what editing is for. I discovered I write better under the pressure of a deadline. Once I committed to doing it, I was going to make it to the end of November with my 50k. I did end up with a serious case of tendinits, but it was worth it for me.

  3. It was a good experience for me with the exception of the tendinitis. 🙂 Yes, I was competing with myself. In fact, I never got onto the website until the end to post my word count. I plan to do it again this year to get a new project started.

  4. I feel sort of the same way about NaNo this year. I’m planning to write a story that I don’t think needs even close to 50k to be told, and that’s fine. Like you, I want the time and space to enjoy my story (about time and space).

Leave a Reply

