Endings are hard

So I’m watching Supernatural, the season five finale and Chuck the prophet said something that hit me as a writer.

Endings are hard. Any chapped-ass monkey with a keyboard can poop out a beginning, but endings are impossible. You try to tie up every loose end, but you never can. The fans are always gonna bitch. There’s always gonna be holes. And since it’s the ending, it’s all supposed to add up to something. I’m telling you, they’re a raging pain in the ass.

And god are they ever. I have so many things started, hundreds of things started…but finishing anything. Well I am the chapped-ass monkey, but endings, they suck, they are hard, but I guess with my stories it’s how Chuck says. Nothing really ends….does it. With my stories they don’t there will always be another story to tell. I just need to get to that pause point in the stories called a book ending a little more often…

2 thoughts on “Endings are hard

  1. I’m the opposite, endings are far easier for me to write than beginnings because the beginnings, no matter how craftily you write them , are still bogged down by all the information you have to give the reader so the story makes sense. You have to explain enough of characters and things so that later on people will understnad why someone does something.

    1. So between us we could have an entire book lol. I seem to like the beginnings, that initial chance of scene setting and introduction, of getting the story flowing and the characters out of my head and on to the page. I think the fact that I’ve only ended two books might show how bad I am at ending things lol

Leave a Reply

