Confessions of a troubled writer and a tired mind

So I am in a state of exhaustion with still so much to do. Cue the world’s smallest violin. But this post isn’t about all that. This post is about my writing and the sudden OMG moment I seem to be experiencing.

See “A Queen’s Tale” got its first review. The general gist was that the story was amazing but I shot myself in the foot because I didn’t edit it well enough. Now I do have to say that while I am new to reviews and such I think the guy said it in a bit of, to quote Sam, “A dick way” but I can accept constructive criticism. I didn’t think “A Queen’s Tale” was that badly edited but maybe I still see what I want to see and am too close to the story. I don’t know. What I do know is that my confidence is shot about publishing “Nyssa’s Tale” myself with just the help of friends who are grammar Nazis. I am back to the opinion that I had six months ago that I need help from those in the know about this sort of thing if I am going to release my book, and the other novels and short stories that are in production. (Honestly I don’t even know how many novels, novellas and short stories I have on the go writing by myself or writing with Sam, I just know it is a lot. Actually a lot seems an inadequate description.)

So I am back to square one a bit on what do I do now? There are so many people out there with their own advice on indie publishing, mainstream publishing, having an agent, having an editor and all the other components of publishing and I feel just a little overwhelmed. With that in mind I plan to have some discussions with my writer friends who are amazing and have all been, I assume, here at this point.

The important thing I am taking away from the experience of self-publishing “A Queen’s Tale” is that most people really do think I have talent as a writer and I think that is the most important part of the equation. Editing can be taught to me, talent at writing not so much. Also I can find people to help me with the logistics and mechanics of writing. But I feel good to know that there are people who enjoy my writing and want more. And there is more. There is so much more. Honestly I think in the next couple of years I should have at least 10 novels and novellas ready for the editing to publishing process and I am excited about that.

So now for, hopefully, some discussion in the comments section here. How do you all feel about publishing, about reviews, about these same issues that are battling for attention in my head? What did you do? What are you doing? Why is the sky blue? (And yes I know it is because we are all looking up a smurf’s butt.)

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a troubled writer and a tired mind

  1. Just looked at the review, my dear. For what it’s worth, even if it comes off as a backhanded compliment, both what he said and what he did was a huge nod to your favor. For one, he gave you four stars, and for two, he still recommended the story. Editing, as you stated, can be taught and learned – or outsourced to someone with more editorial know-how. I know a couple of editors if you don’t mind shelling out a little bit of money toward the effort. (JR is utterly swamped, otherwise I would nudge him and ask.)

    I admit I have not had the time to read A Queen’s Tale yet. But the review shows the great deal of potential the story has. It’s more than enough encouragement to keep up the good work, just with a warning to make certain you have a beta reader or two and don’t mind a few smacks from an editor before submitting the finished product. These are lessons we learn through trial and error and fortunately, this market is a lot more forgiving of newcomers than it used to be. Gives us the chance to stumble around a bit as we learn. (Which I have done in spades. 😉 )

    1. My dear you always know the right things to say don’t you 🙂 I had a couple of beta readers with A Queen’s Tale but I think I shall have more for Nyssa’s Tale (5 has been suggested to me as a good number for picking up the majority of things.) And I might look at editors, just a bit strapped for the old gold coins of late with the move and christmas *insert that tiny violin here again* But yes publishing the novella has been a learning curve and a lesson which I always knew it would be, which is why I did it before Nyssa anyway.
      I hope you are feeling better my dear. And thank you for your comments and taking an interest in moi. (Yes I said that as Miss Piggy…don’t judge me)

Leave a Reply

