Keeping the muse entertained

I hear about these authors who have a story come up and they write it. Just one at a time from beginning to end.

I have no idea in the world how they do that.

See I can’t even come close to that. Sure I can have one story that is my main focus, like with Nyssa’s Tale and just write for other things here and there, but for the most part I am involved in the writing of many many things at once. And yeah that might be why a lot of projects have not been finished yet. But I’ve tried limiting myself to just one thing, Sam and I tried it together and we have this problem that the muses look at us and go ‘Are you frakking kidding?’ and then just flat out refuse to give us any creativity on that project until we let them play with other voices. So we learned after maybe the fourth attempt that it was never going to work doing that.

And you know what. I don’t mind. We write a lot and I do mean a lot. I mean we have hundreds of thousands of words, hundreds and hundreds, maybe over a million words and each day we write thousands of words more (okay some days we are lucky to get out a few hundred but most days I mean). We have stories that are well underway, passing the 50k and 75k mark and still going strong. So I have no worries about us getting them finished really, and I love having all these stories going because my inspiration comes and goes on different things, it always has, it is why I had so many barely started projects in the past. But now I have things to come back to, the muse never lets things go, she just needs a break and to do something else for a while and then come back.

I am okay with this.

I have no idea if this is normal, abnormal or what, but this is the way that it is and things are being finished, things are coming together and even if the rest of you think I am totally nuts for it. I am okay with this.

2 thoughts on “Keeping the muse entertained

  1. Well, if it’s a weird way of doing things, then I’m joining you on the weirdness. I need to be doing at least two projects at a time. In a peak creativity time, I actually work best if I have one plotting project (usually background or flavourtext for the universe, like at the moment I’m constructing a massive “astrology/totemic” system for planet Shadow), one writing project and one editing project, so if I could keep up the juice (*shakes fist at her variable health*), I’d always be writing 2-3 books at a time. It’s the nature of the beast really… creativity isn’t linear, it’s chaotic and to utilise it appropriately I have to follow the threads of creativity otherwise it gets all boring and stagnant. I could never quite understand how folks could train their muse to the point of linear creativity.. besides.. I’d go batshit if I had to edit an entire book without having something else for my muse to naw on.. ick.

Leave a Reply

