The Lady of Shallot

For my 18th birthday I was given a wooden frame with a small picture of “The Lady of Shallot” by John William Waterhouse in it. (The picture still has a spot of pride on my hutch.) Shortly after I came across the Miss Marple tale “The mirror crack’d from side to side” which to this day remains one of my favourite Agatha Christie tales. I am not sure why I like the story of this Lady, or the art, so much. There is something beautiful in the tragedy of the story. You can’t help but feel for the poor woman and though I adore the story, I do not think I can bring myself to bring such a tortured soul into Shadows of Avalon flashbacks. But we shall see, it is still early days on writing the past lives and adventures.

Regardless this remains one of my all time favourite pieces of art.

Out flew the web and floated wide-
The mirror crack’d from side to side;
“The curse is come upon me,” cried
The Lady of Shalott.

Leave a Reply

