Stand for something or fall for anything

I posted up on twitter a link via Neil Gaiman to the essay by Salmon Rushdie Whither Moral Courage. It was an interesting read having just finished The Hunger Games movie for the first time. (No I haven’t read the books….yet.)
What do I stand for in the world. Sometimes I have a strong voice on a topic but I admit, I don’t always share it. I admit at time I act like I was born a Libra and try to balance every side, not rock the boat, not make anyone angry or hateful. It’s not really a position I’m proud of sometimes and I don’t know why I do it, well maybe I do. At primary school I was bullied and even to this day when I think about putting my opinion out there I hark back to certain memories and feelings that come from doing that and then suffering the consequences. A bit stupid at 32 to worry about what some stuck up little blonde bitch and her mindless minions thought back then, but it has left a bit of a lasting impression. It shouldn’t.
I’ve been quiet on here lately, not sure what to say, not sure what parts of me to share, not rocking the boat or getting to out there, but you know what? Fuck that. I am who I am and while I’m still a work in progress I like who I am, who I am becoming and where I am going. Yes thousands will not like me, yes perhaps millions would argue with me had they the chance but that means that millions would stand beside me, thousands will like me and that is just the way of it. So why should I not just be myself, speak my voice and live.
It is late on Sunday night so forgive me my blatant typos and errors, but I had to get this out of my head, I had to say my piece, because you’ll be hearing more from me and you don’t have to stick around to read my opinions, read my writing, read my mind and soul as they spill forth but here I am….and to quote from RENT

Take me for what I am
Who I was meant to be
And if you give a damn
Take me baby or leave me

4 thoughts on “Stand for something or fall for anything

  1. The only deal breakers in the opinions of friends for me is hate fuelled bigotry. The few times I’ve walked away from a friend because of opinions, I can count on one hand. One person because she was a fundi christian and had suddenly decided I was possessed by some demon and wouldn’t stop badgering me to go through an exorcism to save my soul for being a spirit medium. One dude who was lovely right up until the moment he started spouting homophobic trollop. And another dude who was always going on about feminism and “rape culture”, and was always correcting everyone even women, but the one time I pointed out his own sexism he spat tacks at me. Oh, and there was that lady who ranted for like half an hour about “those Maori”, not realising my grandfather came from Parihaka… but I’m not sure she counts as she wasn’t a friend, just some frothy-mouthed fellow bus traveller.

    So, unless you think I should burn in hell for being a clairvoyant, pansexual, part-Maori, opinionated feminist… I think you’re pretty safe. 😉

    ❤ Sleep well, dear heart.

    1. I’m pretty much completely sure I shall not be going on any attacks, especially against dear friends such as yourself my dear. It’s sad we live in such a hate filled world, and that is one thing I shall not be trying to add too, just to stand up for what I believe in and not be scared to do so. *hugs tight*

      1. I’m coming to a place where I find such ridiculous explosions of bigotry actually quite funny. People can be dumb. XD

        ❤ I think everyone should be able to stand up for what they believe in, though the jerks I'd prefer if they did it politely. XD But, Yeah, I'll be here with the pompoms cheering you on, my dear.

    2. I agree. Unfortunately I live in the capitol for fundi protestant christians and I can count on one hand how many in my large family(I have 36 first cousins) aren’t a part of that group(yes both indigenous and white) so I can’t exactly give up on the relationships entirely.. but I do my share of walking away.. an example would be today in the middle of mother’s day things.. my father was politicising the horrible thing that happened to those women in Ohio for an anti-abortion agenda. I asked for a topic change.. he called me a ‘stupid liberal’ and I walked out, got in my car and went home.

      I used to be the quiet kid who got bullied and just sat there.. who tried not to be noticed.. Now I vote with my feet and leave.

Leave a Reply

