Green eyed food for thought.

I don’t know about everyone else, but I’ve wasted as good deal of time in my life wishing I was like someone else, wishing I was as ‘insert word’ as such in such. Be it smart, witty, pretty, fit, popular…. It crossed my mind this morning while lying in bed, I compared myself to someone else, wished I was the one with the desired attribute instead of them… Just a little bit green eyed for a moment.
It made me wonder if anyone ever got jealous of me, ever compared them self to me, ever wanted to be me in some way. Clearly I won’t ever know, but it made me think what I could achieve if I spent less time worrying about others and more time making myself into someone that others could look up to or aspire to be like.
Modern day life has us competing against everyone from reality TV shows to social media taunts of follower counts, liked posts, reblog counts….we are being constantly made to feel like that we should be comparing, and having our ‘failures’ rubbed in our faces. Pitted against each other when really we should be in competition with ourselves to be the best that we can be, because honestly there is no way to be the best and top and winner of everything in life but you can be the best and most amazing you and be proud of that.
Food for thought.
Speaking of which I need food for stomach. Breakfast time. I think I hear some feijoas calling my name.

7 thoughts on “Green eyed food for thought.

  1. I’m jealous of where you live. Every time you post pictures of traveling or your walks I get jealous.

  2. We’ve already had this discussion multiple times, including today; but now that I’m online I can actually post it here. YOU ARE FRAKKING AWESOME! Back when I was still friends with the crazytrain, she and I would have bitch sessions all the time about how amazing you are and how intimidating it can be writing with you. Seriously. It’s like Middle Earth got into your blood and changed your brain so you can write the most phenomenally magical things; and I’m stuck in some sort of Piers Anthony Mundania and reduced to writing trite romance garbage. Not sure why you love it, except maybe the fact that your characters are generally on the receiving end of that romance. Seriously, though. There are soooooo many days where I’m sitting here at the computer, staring blankly at the screen, wondering how in the hell you come up with these amazing things. And then I close my eyes; and I wish like I’ve never wished before that I could write half as well as you do.

Leave a Reply

