A sad girl and a rambling princess

I saw a girl today as I was coming back from dropping K off at school. She was a beauty, think Lily Cole kind of beauty. As she walked to school, I assume, she carried herself like she wanted to hide and not be seen. Everything about her body language was a lack of confidence or a need to not be noticed. As I stopped at the roundabout her eyes lifted and she looked straight at me. My gosh, I have never wanted to get out of the car and hug a person more. There was such sadness in her face and her eyes even had the puffiness of someone who had been crying. She lowered her head and continued down the road away from me.

Part of me truly regrets not getting out of the car and asking her if she was okay. I can think of so many times in my life that such an act of concern or kindness from a stranger would have changed my day, my outlook.

Then again, she might have thought this woman with the bad hair day was some kind of creeper.

It’s sad that an innocent act of concern can be seen before it’s even completed as an act of negativity.

What if she needed a hug?

What if she needed to know that someone cared today?

What if I had the chance to stop someone from doing something terrible, like self-harm or worse, today and I blew it.

Now I’m not saying that was the case, she might have just had a fight with her parents or best friend and be sad but not be going to do something terrible, but what if?

It’s in me to want to help people, even when I haven’t been able to help or fix myself I’ve still been out there trying to help others, trying to heal others. I was going to be a counsellor, heck I was even going to become a religious minister at one stage to be able to help and heal. It’s just who I am…

But I didn’t help, I didn’t even ask, I am conditioned to see that as inappropriate to poke my nose in a stranger’s business…but what if I could save a life, or even just save a terrible day, what if I could have given a smile, changed a life…what if?

Dear sad people…

2 thoughts on “A sad girl and a rambling princess

  1. you made me get all serious and think until i saw the last jump and hug part of the gif that made me start laughing 😛 but i totally understand what your saying. so many times we just want to go out there and do things but there is so much going on in our head about what the reaction would be that we decide not to anyways.
    btw. thats a very thought provoking post to me.

    1. I’m glad I could make you think and laugh. 😀 I found it very thought provoking too, I haven’t had the opportunity arise yet to see if I will do anything different. I’m hoping maybe I will.

Leave a Reply

