To woo with words

This was the first thing on my Facebook feed when I got online this morning. I haven’t seen this movie since I was 14 or 15. It was one of the ones we had to study for English class. I don’t know if it’s the same overseas as it is here when you study movies in English class but they do their best to ruin a perfectly good movie. We watched in so many times, and by watch I mean, play a scene and then study the philosophical and metaphorical significance of why in this scene we see the birds take flight. I remember liking it the first time we watched the movie through, giggling at the scene where they talk about how they walk… but by the end of studying it I was pretty sure I didn’t want to see the film for some time. I guess another 15 or so years is long enough.

That ramble wasn’t actually why I started this blog post but memory kind of got away from me. You know what I’m like, and now I’m tempted to wax lyrical about my old desires to become a teacher, history or English and how I’d want to teach English class just a little bit different.

Anyway, the point I was going to make that has gotten buried somewhere in my brain now and I can’t recall just what I was going to say, was about wooing with words. It’s something I think I forget somedays, in the haste to get an idea down, to write a reply, I forget that I’m meant to be wooing the reader, be it male or female, I’m meant to be helping them get lost in the words and the images, fall in love with the characters, the places and the storylines and I have nothing but words to do it with. I don’t always choose the most elegant or thought invoking way of saying things, sometimes I forget I am wooing, and when I think about it, the scenes where I am trying to woo and make the reader fall in love…those are the scenes I usually get the most feedback on.

So note to self as I write today (either Babypire or Fae’s Revenge…which either way means my beloved Jaidee gets some writing time)…where was I…oh right, as I write today I have to remember that I am writing to make the reader fall in love, to woo them, to make them get lost in the words, in the worlds, to swoon, to sigh, to be unable to leave, to be unwilling to leave the story. I must woo better than any Prince Charming is capable of. That is my goal as a writer, to make the reader fall in love.

One thought on “To woo with words

Leave a Reply

