A woman of power

So today’s post on ETM was all about being a strong woman. We all want to be one, sometimes it feels like we are being held back from it, and sometimes it is us that is holding us back.

I have movies I watch when I want to feel more kickass. When I went to feel empowered, strong, confident. Everything from Sin City and The Avengers, to Practical Magic and Sucker Punch.

Iron Man, Black Widow, Avengers, Natasha Romanoff, gif, Scarlett Johansson, fight, bad ass chick, ,

I have songs I listen to for a shot of confidence and feminine power – Kelly Clarkson, Evanescence, and yes even some Reba…

I have characters I identify with. I have quotes that make me believe.

Then it all fades away.

Lately I’ve been writing some strong characters, this has been a change for me in some ways as I’m often writing characters who are still struggling to find themselves, but I have some characters now who know who they are and are damn proud of it. They own their weaknesses, embrace their strengths and know they are all woman and are totally comfortable in their sexuality and not afraid to embrace it or even use it.

I want to be a strong woman, I want to embrace everything that I am, and stand tall.

It’s going to take work, belief, commitment, but hey, doesn’t everything?

And yes, now I have Fort Minor stuck in my head…

This is ten percent luck, twenty percent skill
Fifteen percent concentrated power of will
Five percent pleasure, fifty percent pain
And a hundred percent reason to remember the name
!

Leave a Reply

