Way of the Wiccad Week 1

I know I said I’d do a post each week to share what happened on Facebook with my daily Way of the Wiccad posts. I warn you now, it’s going to be quite a long post each week. It was a busy week. So without further ado, the previous week as I tried to find my Wiccad Way.

(P.S. after reading this, would you prefer it in weekly instalments or daily?)

Day 2

Day 2 has gone pretty awesomely I must say. If Day 1 was about getting active and taking action, then Day 2 has been about looking inward and taking some time to be still. I meditated this morning. I have great plans to meditate daily or at least multiple times a week and it usually ends up being monthly or worse. Whoops, my bad.
One of the things that will make me the happy best person I can be is to embrace my spirituality and nurture it. You know, actually make time for it and all the comes with it. I generally am not overly vocal about my faith as people can be cruel and unforgiving, but that is changing. I already have another little post started about my faith but that will come another day when it’s actually finished. That usually helps…
So yes, I started the work day with meditating and it was amazing. I always learn valuable lessons through meditation. Like I have the power to light up my world. And it is totally okay for me to Shine.
Then I did a few jobs I needed to get done on the admin side of The Princess Bard and then I rewarded myself with leftover cottage fries for brunch and finishing ‘Death on the Nile’. If you’ve never read or watched an Agatha Christie mystery you might want to get on with it. For once I deduced the correct murderer. Yay me.
And after sitting there digesting that for a while I worked out another little plot point for Faeted Tales and spent a half hour plotting which led to over an hour researching. The main topic of research were the many, many instances of witch trials. (And can I say it was quite upsetting at times, especially given the fact that humanity ain’t evolved that much when it comes to this kind of hateful behaviour.)
I feel really good again today. Even with some indigestion after too many mandarins for afternoon tea. So, I need to try and make meditation a regular thing in my life because it makes me feel so good.
How has your day gone? Or yesterday if you’re just reading this after waking up… What did you do to be still and let everything else go for that moment?
Whatever you did or didn’t do today, I hope you had a happy moment. And if you didn’t, hugs are available.
Until next time, same bat channel…
Be stellar. Be faebulous. Be Wiccad. I love you!

Day Three

I nearly wrote day four, I’m getting ahead of myself. As I curl up to watch The Mummy with a happy tummy full of homemade stew we made tonight, I think today has been a mixed day.
I’ve had moments of intense productivity. I’ve designed Wiccad things that will be stickers, could be on coffee mugs or T-Shirts. I’ve sorted my Instagram account out. I made a card, did dishes, and crossed twelve things off today’s To-do list. I always watched Arrow and The Flash from last week. So, I guess that’s all about balance.
Today hasn’t been such a happy day. Something annoyed me and hurt my feelings a bit and I let it fester. After a good rant to the hubby I feel better. At least I know I’m not crazy in my expectations but it has highlighted that I don’t often communicate when I’m scared of upsetting someone, even if they are upsetting me. So maybe I need to work on that. Being subtle or dancing around a subject doesn’t get you anywhere. But, you know, it can be really scary to tell someone they’re being a jerk and you’d like them to change. Most people don’t take kindly to any kind of criticism. I probably don’t.
I haven’t gotten Briar’s post finished yet. I’m three notebook pages in (about 1500 words or so) and it is a scary scene. Muse is being a bit shy about it and I’ve been letting her. Maybe I can get out some words while I watch my Evy. I do love her. I wanted to watch something tonight with a heroine I look up to. Evy is definitely one. To be honest, I’ve watched so many of my kick ass chicky-babe movies so often that I need to take a break. I need more movies with amazing women. Any suggestions would be welcome!
What movies do you watch when you want to feel powerful and inspired?
Well, Evy just totalled the library so I should go and watch the movie.
Be stellar. Be faebulous. Be Wiccad. I love you!

Day Four

It is Day 4 isn’t it? It’s been one of those days…
Things didn’t go exactly to plan today. My to-do list was huge, the spirit was willing. The body wanted a heat pack and copious amounts of chocolate. (I might have eaten 2 chocolate mudcake cupcakes, they were small but when the body is demanding one must answer or I would have devoured half of the pantry. Or at least the block of Whittakers coconut chocolate in the fridge.)
The big happy of the day was I FINISHED PART 4 OF THE BLOODIED BRIAR. Man, it’s been an effort. It was all meant to be Part 3 but after 2629 words I found a place to break and that became Part 3 and now I’ve written Part 4 which is 9 pages of my notebook…the other parts were 4 or 5. So this is massive. And it was a bit of an emotional experience to write. I was literally crying as I was writing this afternoon. I apologise in advance when this hits you in the feels.
Hopefully I’ll have this edited and up on the weekend. (I still have to finish typing it up before I can get to the editing.)
So, my lesson of the day was that sometimes it’s okay to let the to-do list and expectations, go and be nice to yourself. I would have stressed and upset myself if I had put the pressure on me to get everything done. My body needed to rest, and I needed to get through the cramps of doom. And I did. Yay chocolate and watching Atlantis. (If you don’t think that’s a great Disney movies, well, you’re wrong. And that is one I wouldn’t actually mind seeing made live action. And if they need cast ideas, Tumblr has them covered.)
What did you do today that helped keep you sane? I’d love to hear about your day, as always.
But, now it’s time to go and watch a movie, and perhaps be a total glutton and have another cupcake (treadmill or yoga tomorrow most definitely).
Until next time.
Be stellar. Be faebulous. Be Wiccad. I love you.

Day Five

Day 5…started in a bad place. Well it started in a good place, bed, unfortunately my body decided last night wasn’t one of those nights for sleeping. I admit I was in a weird place going to bed, we’d watch Chris Cornell related videos for a while, for obvious reasons and then other rock videos. I went to bed wishing I had the ability to stay up to 3am listening to music and having deep and amazing conversations. So, I guess my body went “Oh, you want a lack of sleep? We can totally do that!”

So, I started the day tired but still wanting to achieve great things.

Come about eleven a.m. I was crashing hard. So, I moved to sit in the sunshine on the floor, because there was no way I was sitting outside with that cold wind going on. I chilled. I lamented the fact that I had been acting like a hyper magpie looking for shiny. I had not typed up much of The Bloodied Briar at all.

So, I tried to read and kept magpie-ing it back to my phone to check social media which I didn’t need to check. Eventually I gave in and coffee was made. At last success. I managed to get back on the computer and finished typing Briar’s story up. 5274 was the final word count for part 4. Seriously, so many words. And I cried again typing it up. There is one scene that just breaks me.

Then I celebrated by doing the good Mama stuff with K. He’s got his first gymnastics competition tomorrow, already so proud of him. Oh, and I might have slipped and purchased some more crafting things while I was out. Vintage style washi tape…I couldn’t resist.

I will tell you one thing, I just have no zen at the moment for bad drivers and there seems to be so many of them. Cheeky people to downright dangerous. I even had a cop doing dumb shit today, not illegal just cheeky to the point of rudeness. Why? To get two cars further along….and then I ended up in front of him anyway so what did his lane changing get him? Insert curse words here. If I could blow out a birthday cake candle right now I’d probably wish for a month of jerk free driving. I don’t mind being a Wiccad Witch but these people are going to make me go Wicked Witch on their asses. Is there a hex to make a bad driver fail their next warrant of fitness?

Right, mixed day. I hope I sleep tonight between lack of sleep and the wonders of womanhood, I might not be a stellar example of faebulousness tomorrow if I don’t get a nice restful sleep. Yes, restful, without seventeen action movie worthy dreams that drain energy like a vampire drains blood.

I wanted to edit Briar tonight but I’ve admitted that I’m going to do a terrible job if I try to. So, I’m starting to Santa Clarita Diet. Yay Drew and Timothy. I’m not sure what to expect because of different things I’ve heard but I’m hoping to relate to Drew, I love her forever and from an article I read, her transformation in this, and her one in her real life is very me at the moment. So, fingers crossed I love it.

Until next time,

Be stellar. Be faebulous. Be Wiccad. And don’t eat anyone.

Day Seven

So, day 6 we took off from writing. It was a busy busy day. The kiddo graduated another level at swimming and is now pre-competition level. Then had had his first gymnastics competition after 3 weeks at that level and he came away with two first places. To stay we were surprised and happy is an understatement. When they read out his name the first time I almost cried. I was so proud of him.
It did make me think, how often I make myself proud like that. You know, we don’t actually always take a lot of pride in the things we are achieving. Sure, I get happy I achieved them and I get relieved things are done. But I don’t always pat myself on the back and tell myself I’m proud of me.
I should do that more and so should you!
Yesterday was a day of finding my happy place, I was an emotional stress bunny for a fair bit of it, which translated today into a case of ‘dun wanna’. I didn’t want to get out of bed, I didn’t want to edit Briar’s story. I just wanted to do nothing.
But I pushed myself and guess what. I got the edits finished on The Bloodied Briar and I got part 4 out. Final word count 5362 words. I was thrilled. I am eager to get to work on her next part which means reading back about 2600 posts on her Tumblr…and wow. Tumblr did not want me to. So, I’m doing some things to get all her words out of Tumblr to read easier and in the right order and not throw my computer into conniptions.
I am also thinking about the fact that my Muse has her fingers in about five different stories right now and it’s stressing me out. I want to give everything the right amount of time. I am trying to keep five glowing magical story orbs in the air at once and it ain’t effing happening. Not with all the other real life glowing magical orbs I need to keep juggling.
I am stressing myself out and it means that the muse ends up hiding. So, I need to focus. And I need to focus on Jaidee if I’m going to rewrite these parts of the story so completely and still get the book out before I turn fifty. (Yeah, I know, that’s still quite a while away but you get the point.)
Guess who needs to focus and not stress. Guess who needs to work out what mood the muse in music wise and get to writing.
I can do it all though, I’ve done it all before. I’ve found the willpower to stay focused on one story. It’s hard. (Especially as the City of the Wiccad gals want some attention, Tienai wants attention, Juniper wants attention, Briar wants attention and as of last night Peggy freaking Carter wants my attention. #teampeggycarterdeservedbetter #andimgoingtogiveittoher)
Where was I? Oh yes, the that’s what she said joke. It’s hard! So much about achieving my dreams is hard. A lot of it isn’t fun times and candy canes. Even the writing can sometimes be less than enchanting. BUT. I cannot have it all fun games and happy times, dreams don’t work that way. Goals don’t work that way. Good things take time, and even though great things happen all at once, they don’t freaking happen if you’re not putting in the work. Life is pain and anyone who says otherwise is selling something.
Tonight, I might make some notes but I am thinking that being a Sunday night there should be X-Files while snuggled in bed with the heater on and an early night. I hear early nights are great and the old body really loves them. We’ll see how it goes.
Until next time. Same bard time. Same bard channel.
Be stellar. Be faebulous. Be Wiccad. I love you.

 

Leave a Reply

